Global leadership in energy management: 2018 Awards

May 09, 2018
Global leadership in energy management: 2018 Awards

Open CEM 2018 Award Recipients configuration options
9 May 2018

The Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM), a high-level international forum promoting clean energy, recognizes 50 organizations with facilities in 103 countries and economies for their leadership in energy management through its 2018 Energy Management Leadership Awards. On 24 May 2018, three companies will receive top honours during the 2018 CEM meeting in Copenhagen, Denmark. The Award of Excellence in Energy Management will be formally presented to An Garda Síochána (Ireland), PJSC Magnitogorsk Iron & Steel Works (Russia), and PT. Pembangkitan Jawa-Bali Gresik (Indonesia). The CEM will also recognize the contributions of 47 other organizations with the Energy Management Insight Award for elevating global awareness of energy management systems and their ongoing benefits.

The CEM awards programme highlights the energy, environmental, and business benefits achieved when organizations of all sizes invest in energy efficiency. The current class of awardees represents several economic sectors that are new to the competition, reflecting the continuously expanding use of the ISO 50001 energy management system standard worldwide. Collectively, these 50 organizations report annual energy cost savings of up to US $383 million and emission reductions of up to 4.3 million metric tons of CO2—the equivalent of taking 916,000 passenger vehicles off the road. 

“The work of the Energy Management Working Group is absolutely crucial. The member governments and other partners leverage their resources and take collective action to strengthen national and international efforts to make energy management standards adoption easier around the globe,” said Christian Zinglersen, Head of the CEM Secretariat. “We are delighted to see so many companies participating in the Leadership Awards and by recognising their efforts, hopefully inspire others to follow in their steps.” 

To qualify for these awards, one or more facilities within each organization established an energy management system and had it certified to the global ISO 50001 standard; summarized the process and resulting benefits; and submitted a structured case study for analysis. Winners are selected by an independent panel of international experts. 

The Award of Excellence in Energy Management recognizes efforts to transform the way organizations use energy. Details about this year’s top winners:

An Garda Síochána with three ISO 50001-certified sites in Ireland. An Garda Síochána is the first national police force in the world to achieve ISO 50001 certification. Using an ISO 50001-certified energy management system across its transport fleet and at two of its largest sites, Garda Headquarters and Garda College, the agency saved USD $11.3 million and reduced its CO2 emissions by 70,340 metric tons over eight years.
PJSC "Magnitogorsk Iron & Steel Works" (PJSC “MMK”) for its ISO 50001-certified site in Russia. MMK, a steel producer and metallurgical company, established an ISO 50001 energy management system that delivers US $20.5 million in annual savings with no financial investment. Overall, site savings over three years total US $38.6 million and a reduction in e-CO2 emissions of 698,186 metric tons.  
PT PJB Gresik Power Plant, with ISO 50001-certified combined cycle power and steam power sites in Indonesia. The PT PJB Gresik Power Plant operates a combined cycle power plant and four units of steam power plants to supply electricity to East Java. The facility implemented ISO 50001 to achieve government and internal goals; it saved US $9.69 million and reduced CO2 emissions by 2.72 million metric tons over three years.
The ISO 50001 standard is a cost-effective framework to help organizations manage and continually improve their energy performance and realize cost and emission reductions. Regardless of an organization’s size or sector, this framework helps maintain and build energy and cost savings year after year. ISO 50001 is a product of international collaboration, drawing on best practices from over 50 countries and demonstrating impressive savings. The standard is proven to be business-friendly, globally relevant, and transformational, as it embeds best practices into any organization and provides a global benchmark for clean energy action. 

The 2018 award winners and their case studies are now available on the CEM website. Learn more about the energy management experts on the 2018 Selection Committee responsible for reviewing and selecting the award recipients. 

“UNIDO has been and continues to be a strong supporter of ISO 50001. We clearly see that the use of energy management systems in industry improves energy efficiency which results in increased competitiveness of manufactured products and economic productivity on the global market, reductions in greenhouse gas emissions, and the creation of green jobs,” said Tareq Emtairah, Director Energy Department at the United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO). “We offer our warm congratulations to the winners of the Energy Management Leadership Awards programme and urge more organizations and companies to commit to the CEM Energy Management Campaign.”

The Energy Management Leadership Awards are organized by the CEM Energy Management Working Group (EMWG), which includes representatives from Argentina, Australia, Canada, Chile, China, Denmark, the European Commission, Finland, Germany, India, Indonesia, Japan, Mexico, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Sweden, the Republic of Korea, United Arab Emirates, and the United States. The EMWG was launched in 2010 by the CEM and International Partnership for Energy Efficiency Cooperation. For more information, please visit